What is a new moon?

A new moon happens once a month when the moon and the sun conjoin in the sky, setting off a new cycle of light. When the moon is new, it’s invisible to us on Earth, then it slowly appears as a very thin crescent of light. While the energy of a new moon lasts for about three days before and after the lunation, the moon is technically only new for a moment—when the sun and the moon are directly aligned in the sky (and on the zodiac wheel!).

What’s the spiritual meaning and significance of the new moon?

Since new moons happen once a month and signify the beginning of a cycle, you can think of them as a cosmic reset. The new moon is an ideal time to set intentions and goals that you’ll develop as the moon waxes toward fullness. Connecting to these lunar energies can provide grounding and a sense of direction.


Harness the power of the new moon through movement, meditation, and manifestation each month during our New Moon Yoga Magic Virtual Workshop.

🌙 This hour long New Moon Yoga class will consist of yoga asana (physical practice), an intention setting meditation, and some manifestation journal prompts so that we can move into a new lunar cycle, new season, and new astrological year with ease and intention!
🌙 Class is Donation based ($12 Suggested Donation), so pay what you can and everyone registered through Event Brite will also receive the zoom recording after our class to re-visit as often as you like.

REGISTER for the March Workshop here!
March 28th at 7:00PM

How to spice up your new moon ritual throughout the year by focusing on the sign the moon is in!

A new moon always falls in one specific astrological sign. Every sign carries different energies and themes, and we can use this information to connect us with the cosmos. Here are some keywords associated with each sign to help you get started on your lunar journeying.

  • Aries: Identity, self, individuality, fire, beginnings.
  • Taurus: Mother Earth, art, nature, body positivity, grounding.
  • Gemini: Conversation, air, information, knowledge, social.
  • Cancer: Water, womb, Mother, moon, comfort.
  • Leo: Fire, creativity, fame, Sun, sovereignty.
  • Virgo: Earth, goddess, harvest, sorting out what’s necessary from what’s not.
  • Scorpio: Deep waters, underworld, shadow, the past.
  • Sagittarius: Adventure, fire, the unknown, wildness.
  • Capricorn: Earth, structure, integrity, hard work, Saturn.
  • Aquarius: Air, new ideas, revolution, future-oriented, outsiders.
  • Libra: Balance, justice, beauty, harmony, air, ideas.
  • Pisces: The ocean, collective consciousness, mystical, dreams.